top of page

Karpov Kinrade interview

Updated: May 26, 2019

So we are huge fans of Vampire Girl series and I, Maria am a huge fan of The Nightfall Chronicles. They are both amazing and if I had to pic one I would def hands down choose The Nightfall Chronicles. We have read most of their books, only a few left to read. So let me tell you a little bit about Karpov Kinrade. Lux and Dmytry are married couple who write under a pen name. Karpov Kinrade is actually both of their last names mashed together, how brilliant is that!? They live with their kids and cats.


What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I listen to a song on repeat a million times until everyone in my family hates it while I write. LOL

-How long does it usually take you to write a book?

It really depends. I can write a book in a few weeks if I'm really on fire.

-Where do you get your ideas for your book?

It's a blend of things. I dig into my soul to see what story is lurking there, and blend that with the brand I write in as Karpov Kinrade (fantasy/PNR romance with strong female characters, messages of hope, and lots of plot twists) and then I try to find a unique hook to it all. I love taking tropes and myths and coming up with new ways to tell those stories.

-What do you like doing when you aren't writing?

My husband lol But seriously, I love spending time with my family, watching movies, hiking, biking, art, reading, cuddling with my cats.

-How many books have you written in total? Which one was your favorite to write?

This next launch next week (Forever Bound on May 30) will be our 39th book in all our pen names, not including short stories and anthologies. My favorite? Right now it's I Am the Wild. That book was deeply personal for me as the main character was dealing with the death of her twin brother by suicide and I recently lost my own brother in the same way. But through it all Eve holds onto hope and light, a theme in my books that's very important to me.

-Do you hear a lot from your readers? What is the one thing you hear the most?

We do, yes! And we love it. It's one of my favorite parts of this job. I think what we hear the most is that our books have touched them deeply, got them reading again or for the first time, or gave them hope during a difficult time in their lives. That means everything to me.

-What do you think makes a good story?

Something that is well-written and that pulls you in viscerally. I also love stories that have layers of meaning. They are entertaining and wish-fulfilling but also offer something deeper as well.

-what is the most rewarding thing about writing with your partner?

We get to create these amazing worlds together. We share our days and our time and our work. We give birth to these new creations and it feels like pieces of us going into the world.




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page