top of page

Making a Play by Abbi Glines *spoilers*



Aurora is the new girl in town, she is Hunter’s twin and he is super protective of his sister, Aurora is not your typical heroine in books, where she seems to have her life somewhat figured out, or she is a total mess.“She’s innocent, she’s sheltered, she’s the quarterback's sister, and she is deaf.” She was born that way and although Hunter is her twin she feels as if she is the broken child. She battles with showing everyone her speaking voice out of fear of not knowing she won’t sound like everyone else. I felt for her and at times I could relate to her in terms of finding my own voice and courage to speak up and be myself. Ryker is the bad boy who loves to party and sleep with a girl once a week and sometimes maybe even two! He runs the field parties and he has no sympathy for those who hurt those he loves. The first time he sees Aurora, he falls for her. Love at first sight, he does not care about anything else. Once he figures out she can’t hear he doesn't seem to care at all, he still wants to know her.  

At times I found myself swooning at the gestures Ryker had with Aurora. I loved that she was able to trust him so fast and soon by showing pieces of herself, they have this great connection and I loved it. I also enjoyed the fact that there was a race situation brought up in the book, not many authors write about the type of forbidden romance where a father won't like her daughter’s boyfriend because he is black. I thought besides Aurora and Ryker running into the obstacle where communication was a little bit of a battle was mild compared to her father’s hatred.  

This book teaches that love conquers many things like fear and hatred. I loved reading about Ryker and Aurora and Abbi Glines never ceases to amaze me when she writes. I adore her romance series and I literally swoon when I read her books!

I give this one 4.5 Stars!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page