top of page

Prey by Lurlene McDaniel





I picked to read this book for a cassidyreads romance readathon I am participating, I also wanted to see what the point of view of a teenager who starts a relationship with his teacher entails. Reading from the teacher’s point of view, I could tell something was off with her character. She began such relationship being much older than the student, and I found this book to be a bit too disturbing for me at times, but I knew there was a possibility this would happen while reading it. There were many times where I found myself getting angry at the situation that Ryan was put in by Lori. Lori was just as troubled as Ryan was in the end though. Ryan’s father lack of attention towards him, is what drove him to get involved with his teacher, and also the fact that he lacked a motherly figure. Having lost his mother at a very young age he never had a maternal figure in his life. Lori comes from a traumatizing background, which shaped her to like teenagers. She felt disgusted by older men or men who were around her age. Yet, she liked to sort of expose herself to them and be noticed to obtain what she wanted, but she thought they were all pigs. Lori has such an obsession with Ryan she goes out of her way to control him, take all his time away from his peers and even to defy his father. All while making him keep their relationship a secret. Everyone around Ryan sees the difference in him, but himself and at times he felt trapped but he needed Lori.

I honestly recommend this book for those who like the psychological side of this book, I honestly analyzed every single chapter, from the point of view of Ryan, Lori and his best friend Honey. They were all very interesting characters to say, Honey was probably the most sane if I had to say though. I found myself enjoying this book as a learning experience. I give this book 4.5 stars, the author really took her time studying this type of relationship and did a great job putting it into her own story.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page